High Street 2009 – My Predictions

Sale. Sale. Sale. Sale.

Sale. Sale. Sale. Sale.

How different will the High Street look in December 2009? No-one is debating that some stores will go into administration and that some will vanish from our high street all together. Diamond Geezer is compiling the High Street deathlist and it got me thinking about what is going to be left once all this recession is over and done with. It may look alot sparser than it does now. Here are my predictions for shops to go under in 2009:

  • Homebase
  • WHSmith
  • Clinton Cards
  • Paul Simon Curtains
  • Furniture Village
  • Sofa Workshop
  • Sock Shop
  • The Pier
  • Spudulike
  • Monsoon
  • Jessops
  • M&Co.
  • JJB Sports
  • Mr Shoe
  • The Works
  • Carpet Right
  • Allied Carpets
  • Topps Tiles
  • Brantano
  • Currys (not Currys.digital)
  • BBs Coffee and Muffins
  • British Home Stores
  • Poundstretcher
  • Blacks
  • Millets

I realise I’m hedging my bets here by predicting an awful lot of stores but I put the ones in bold that I feel strongest about. These predictions are based on nothing more than the amount of customers they seem to have, their sales, their levels of stock and not on their financial position which I don’t know about. I probably should have put Debenhams but predicting the death of your employer is never a good omen.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “High Street 2009 – My Predictions”

  1. Sarah Says:

    Booo! Not Monsoon! Please!
    *gets real*
    Probably will be sadly. My friend who works there said the Taunton one paid more in wages than it made in (I think it was) November.
    Smiths always looks dodgy to me. They have huge piles of chocolate and water and penguins. And those vouchers they give you every time you buy something.


Leave a comment